A Brazilian “Village Vibe”

It is not a Pink world but sometimes we need to make one.

Hi Everyone,

Has been a while since the last post but keeping in mind that this page was created with the intention of sharing a bit of the Brazilian culture in London. I am now IN Brazil so I will carry on doing it from here (for the time being). I hope you enjoy it.

Today I’d like to share the content in English, aiming to reach people who have not been in Brazil yet, also to my non Brazilian friends be able to understand some of our culture and maybe add it to their back pack if they wish.

Last Saturday I went to a place called “Raiz Culture Center” (@raizcentrocultural) which is a space where people share laughs and life experiences. There was an incredible band playing classic Rock songs, people exposing their handcraft work and a fire place burning.

This place is located in Garopaba (a small city by the sea, rich in culture and nature where I live at the moment).

The main point about this post is to mention the difference between the Brazil that I see on the news/television from the Brazil which I discovered here, in this city.

It’s a place where people enjoy their lives, exchange memories, knowledge end accept the differences (“the more different the better”). Differences enhance experiences but unfortunately only a few understand the meaning of it.

There was people dancing, over 50’s singing, kids playing and food been sold. For me, who spent over 10 years abroad it was an explosion of feelings: Happiness, expectation, joy, blissfulness and hope.

This city has 29.959 habitants, there is a mixture of 60’s vibe and a “young surf good vibration”. People do sports and jog by the beach. There is also respect to the nature and sustainable projects going on. (I promise, I DO NOT intend to make any Marketing campaign for the city here but I have to mention it).

I met many retired talented artists such as photographers, painters, writers, who contribute to keep the “charming vintage classic vibe” alive.

We cannot be Hypocritical and say that there is no gap between the higher and lower classes (it is a Brazilian problem which has been coming along the way for centuries) but here feels like the well-structured people, finally understood something priceless and started to share KNOWLEDGE, which makes the lower class LEARN from who already learned some secrets about life. And let’s all agree that sharing “secrets” is always valid, or at least arouse the curiosity.

I cannot forget to mention the Yoga vibe, it seems like 80% of the population knows how to breath & is a former Yogi which is (trendy) funny.

Is it too Pink to your taste? Maybe yes but perspective changes everything.

I want to ask you an important question here. What makes someone considered part of the upper or lower class of the population?

We all know, it is only one word: ACCESS.

Most people who teach here, learned the importance of giving opportunities & looking out for each other. In England, is common having access to things, it is common to earn a decent salary, it is common to be part of society or group, it is common not having to worry about pay your bills on time but here, it is a bit different for the majority of the population, that’s why who had the opportunity to learn THERE is able to teach HERE. (to be honest, it is an obligation actually)

The local council is conscious about the importance of education and encourages initiatives. I learned the importance of exchanging ideas and being open to understand what sparks other people’s interest.

What is considered “old” for you can be the new beginning to others. So share it! Do not be shy.

This experience in Brazil has been “mind blowing”. Watching people’s behaviour and relationships is making me learn something new about myself every single day. That’s why I share the idea that in life there is the right timing for everything that you wish for. So be patient,  maybe it is just not the right time yet but for sure IT IS coming.

I’ll leave some pictures about that night & city. I hope you enjoyed the “thoughts” and leave a comment if you have any. I ‘ll be happy to answer.

Published by LuanaUK

I am a 30 years old Brazilian woman living in the U.K for the past 8 years, always struggling when people ask me where is home. I had a great childhood in Porto Alegre- Brazil (my hometown). Besides that, I chose to throw myself in a completely unknown exciting /scary cultural adventure in my early twenties since then (as a Virgo ) trying to live a coherent, balanced, clumsy, and quite intense life, learning and sharing experiences with a sarcastic sense of humour. Living in England made the passion for photography and writing become something real, as it holds a range of good opportunities and inspiring scenarios to keep going. However, English is not my first language so I would appreciate a bit of good comum sense from your perspective. I am always open for criticism and feedback, so if you have nice tips no doubt it will be taken on board.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started